We all get 24 Hours: Are you using yours?

What do you do with your 24 hours that you have in a day? Does it have purpose or are you wasting it?

For the first few years of my college career I couldn’t have been any lazier. I skated by, planning my future but never building towards it. I wanted to be in radio, TV, and doing big voice-over gigs. It’s a fantasy I’d had since I was just a little kid. I’ve been lucky; I’ve always known what I wanted, but I didn’t chase it like I should have.

Two years ago, I was 20. I had left a college I hated; I was working two jobs, and my life was miserable. While I had plans to make it better, I had no real intention of carrying them out.

My 24 hours a day were absolutely wasted with nothing more than stocking shelves, washing cars, and fantasizing about a dream I wasn’t chasing.

giphy1

Then all of that changed.

As I stood on the sidelines, a lot of my friends flew past me, graduated, and actually moved on with their lives. Then one of my best friends got his dream job at an investment firm. His ambitions, and all of the blood, sweat, and tears he devoted in his 24 hours woke me up to the reality of my waste. I wasn’t living with purpose! I hadn’t been in school; and I most certainly wasn’t pushing myself towards anywhere but failure in my day-to-day life.

So, I started looking everywhere and anywhere for the opportunity to chase my dream. To start in radio, to do the news, to do voice-overs, and to have the life I always wanted.

And it became my reality.

Six months after my epiphany, I started back at school here at CWU. A year later, I was back doing radio, and two years later; now, I’ve been nominated for three national awards for all of my hard work. I’m a professional voice actor working for a Virtual Reality company, and I get to do television news for Central NewsWatch.
13726562_1825543527678791_5867188833793412599_n

No longer do I need to stock shelves, or wash cars, or clean toilets.

I used my 24 hours a day to live with purpose, because the sidelines weren’t going to cut it anymore.

Now I won’t say that waking up to what was going on around me happened overnight, and it wasn’t instantaneous that I found my purpose, but when I did, I knew I needed to make a change.

So maybe you’re like me, you’re just getting by, unsure of the future and what it holds. Believe me; I was there not so long ago myself, but trust when I say that it’s all about what you do. Nobody and nothing else matters. Use your 24 hours to drive yourself towards the dream that you have and you will find it.

Leave a Reply

