Thanks for Listening: Honest Thoughts On My Life And Where I Am In It

This may seem like just another radio rant from me. But it’s not. I wanted to open up, more than I do on air, and share my honest feelings on my fears, failures, and where I want to be going forward. Graduation for me is just around the corner and I’m scared. But I also wanted to reflect and look back at all of the amazing things I’ve pushed myself to do in the last two years at Central. Thanks for listening.

I’ve been doing radio for a little over two years now. I’m known, by pretty much everybody, for being the talk radio guy; more specifically the conservative talk radio guy. And I take no offense to that. I enjoy what I do and I think that many people that tune in enjoy it as well, but I’m at this odd crossroads in my life right now; I’m about to graduate and at the same time I’m seeking to try and find my voice in radio. And by finding my voice I don’t mean how it sounds, I mean the tone and emphasis and intent with which I speak. My knowledge, my understanding, and how I convey words to my audience.

I’m known for doing other things, news, voice-overs, and even some television anchoring, but my dream has always been to be Mr. Talk Radio. I think on the outside it looks like I’ve succeeded at that. I’ve been nominated, and won, national awards, I get a lot of social media interactions and people tend to like the show.

But I think deep down I’m afraid. I feel like I’m still searching to find my voice in the big world of media out there. My heroes, the Rush Limbaugh’s and Glenn Beck’s of the world, have their voices. They are known for how they speak and the intensity with which they share their views on a top story. For the last few months I’ve been really trying to look at myself and what I say, and not try to copy my heroes but to find my own voice. Right now I’m still in the middle of it, but it’s taking me time to accept that I can’t be where Glenn and Rush are, 30 and 40 years into their careers, when I’m at year 2.

I want to be who I am. I want to find my own voice, and I want to be the absolute best at radio. Every day I look around me and I feel frustration with myself and with where I am. I find myself constantly angry for what I feel I lack in dedication to my craft, which is silly considering the 50 or 60 hours I spend in the radio station every week. And I’m still trying to learn what I can do to grow in these aspects.

I don’t expect life after graduation to be easy. I know it’s only going to get harder, but when I wake up every day, one thing drives me; to be the best, to find my voice, and to broadcast that voice to the world. So bear with me, I’m still learning, I’m still trying, and I’m still growing. Unfortunately all of the growth I have to achieve is in front of a weekly audience who hears every mistake, screw-up, and error I make.

I want to make a difference, I want to have an impact, and I want it to matter that I’ve chosen this path in life. I hope that when I find my voice it’ll put me right where I need to be. So if you listen, thanks for listening, if you watch me on a video or TV, thanks for watching, and I hope that you stay with me as I continue to grow and push the boundaries of what I can do.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

